Roasted Chickpeas

I’ve loved chickpeas all my life, so when I saw this recipe, I thought it looked good and would be easy to start with. The recipe is originally from The Skinny Fork and it has some good reviews. Plus, all you have to do is mix some things and stick it in the oven. That’s my kind of recipe!

Now, in order for this blog to work properly, I will follow the instructions exactly as they are listed and using only the ingredients the recipes call for. After all, I want to see if the average person and make their recipes look Pinter-perfect.

Okay, I started out with the ingredients.

1024x768_bestfit_2
2 cans of chickpeas, rosemary, ground black pepper, sea salt, garlic powder, minced garlic, and parmesan cheese. (not pictured: cooking spray)

So, the recipe says you’re supposed to drain and dry the chickpeas. Don’t laugh, but my first thought was that I should go get my hair dryer to make things quick. I would have totally done that, but I do most of my cooking past midnight. Have no fear, I settled for paper towels.

20150126_011700
Pretty much 100% sure this is not the smartest method.

Once that tedious task was over, I put everything in the bowl and then mixed it, as directed.
1024x768_bestfit_26                         1024x768_bestfit_29

Wow, super easy! When something seems too easy, I immediately think I’m doing it wrong. It’s a bad habit but it’s true more times than not.

Next, I put some foil on a cookie sheet, sprayed it with some cooking spray, and spread the chickpeas onto it.

20150126_013034_2

Additionally, I sprayed the chickpeas with cooking spray to help with the roasting. I put them into my preheated oven for 30-40 minutes.

 256x256_fit_one_bestfit_5                20150126_021247

I took them out at 30 minutes and they didn’t seem ready so I put them in for another 10, as directed. I took them out and let them cool. Once they were cooled, I tried them. Honestly, I don’t get the hype of these… they had absolutely no flavor and weren’t fully roasted. In the end, I thought they were kind of gross.

If you want to make these successfully, I suggest adding more seasoning and cooking for a longer amount of time.

Click here for the original recipe.

Leave a Reply

